Tk'emlups elect incumbent councillor as new chief | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions

Partly Cloudy

Kamloops News

Tk'emlups elect incumbent councillor as new chief

Rosanne Casimir has been elected as the new chief of Tk'emlups te Secwepemc. She was first elected as a councillor in 2009.
Image Credit: FACEBOOK/ Rosanne J. Casimir
November 13, 2018 - 5:30 PM

KAMLOOPS - A third-term councillor has been elected as the new chief of Tk'emlups te Secwepemc.

Rosanne J. Casimir will be replacing the outgoing chief Fred Seymour after he announced earlier this year he would not be seeking re-election.

Seymour has served as the community's chief since he was first elected in 2015.

Casimir beat the only other candidate, Joshua August Gottfriedson, by nearly 40 votes.

The newly elected councillors include Marie Baptiste, Thomas Blank, Sonny Joseph Leonard, Justin Gottfriedson and Colleen Mosterd-Mclean.

Incumbent councillors Katy Elizabeth Gottfriedson and Jeanette Jules both secured their seats.

Tk'emlups te Secwepemc held their swearing-in ceremony today, Nov. 13, at Moccasin Square Gardens.

The new chief and council will serve until 2021.

To contact a reporter for this story, email Karen Edwards or call (250) 819-3723 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

News from © iNFOnews, 2018

  • Popular kamloops News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile