Penticton Indian Band elects new council | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Penticton News

Penticton Indian Band elects new council

Polling clerk Lee White receives a ballot from Penticton Indian Band member Dion Alex during the Monday, Dec. 7, 2020 council election.
Image Credit: SUBMITTED / Penticton Indian Band
December 08, 2020 - 10:18 AM

The Penticton Indian Band has a new council following elections yesterday.

Tim Lezard was elected to council after garnering the most votes at 170 yesterday, Dec. 7, according to a Penticton Indian Band media release.

Charlene Roberds and Fred Kruger were also elected, picking up 148 and 145 votes respectively.

Dolly Kruger (128), Vivian Lezard (126), Lesley Gabriel (124), Suzanne Johnson (118),and Clint Gabriel (117) make up the rest of the eight member council.

The eight elected members were part of a field of 21 nominees.

Mail-in votes and advance polling ballots were also cast in the election.

In person voting took place on the reserve yesterday, as members were required to drive up to a voting location and step out of their vehicle to vote, depositing their ballot in a secured box.

The band elected new chief Greg Gabriel in a separate election on Oct. 19.

The election was managed by Victoria-based lawyer Marcus Hadley, who was appointed as a third party electoral officer.

To contact a reporter for this story, email Steve Arstad or call 250-488-3065 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above.

News from © iNFOnews, 2020

  • Popular vernon News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile