Kamloops council to appoint new regional board directors

Image Credit: FILE PHOTO

KAMLOOPS - Kamloops city council will appoint their regional district board directors tomorrow.

In the new council's first regular meeting tomorrow, Nov. 6, the mayor's report has recommended six council members to be appointed to the Thompson-Nicola Regional District.

Mayor Ken Christian, Coun. Arjun Singh, Coun. Kathy Sinclair, Coun. Mike O'Reilly, Coun. Dieter Dudy and Coun. Dale Bass have been recommended to be municipal appointees to the board.

Coun. Denis Walsh, Coun. Sadie Hunter and Coun. Bill Sarai would serve as alternate directors on a rotating basis, according to the report.

Current council policy allows for the top five finishers from the local election, and the mayor, be appointed to the regional district, mayor Ken Christian says.

Kamloops council will vote on the appointment recommendations during their council meeting tomorrow, Nov. 6.

The Thompson-Nicola Regional District covers 11 municipalities, including the city of Kamloops.

To contact a reporter for this story, email Karen Edwards or call (250) 819-3723 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

She's terminally ill, was assaulted in a home invasion, had all her possessions stolen — and it's taken its toll
SICAMOUS - She was home alone when they arrived. It was six a.m. one day last October. Her husband had just left for work. She was going through sentimental jewellery and family heirlooms to give to her daughters and granddaughters once she

Top News