ELECTIONS 2014: Your Vernon candidates | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Vernon News

ELECTIONS 2014: Your Vernon candidates

Vernon City Hall
October 10, 2014 - 5:00 PM

VERNON - Nominations for the upcoming municipal election officially closed at 4 p.m. Friday, leaving the following candidates vying for seats.

Five are running for mayor of Vernon: Victor Cumming, Jamie Morrow, Akbal Mund, Mary-Jo O’Keefe, and Klaus Tribes.

The 14 who tossed their hat in for one of the City of Vernon’s six councillor positions are Scott Anderson, Kari Gares, Jack Gilroy, Arthur Gourley, Janet Green, James Todd, Shawn Lee, Mark Olsen, Dalvir Nahal, Colt Wilson and incumbent councillors Catherine Lord, Brian Quiring, Bob Spiers and Juliette Cunningham.

Those numbers are about average compared to the last two elections. In the 2008 municipal election six people tossed their hat in for mayor, and 13 for councillor. In 2011, there were only three candidates for mayor, but 15 competed for one of six councillor positions. 

Seven electoral area candidates are running for a seat at the North Okanagan Regional District. There are two nominees for area D: incumbent Rick Fairbairn and first time nominee Huguette Allen, and two for area F: incumbent Jackie Pearase and Herman Halvorson, who has served previously. Incumbent Bob Fleming is looking to represent area B, incumbent Mike Macnabb area C, and newcomer Hank Cameron area E.

Nine candidates will vie for one of seven school trustee positions. Those nominees are incumbents Bill Turanski, Clifton Armstrong, Marie Smith, Lee Fortin, and Mary Margo. There are two candidates who have served previously, Charles Connor and Arthur Wainwright, and two new faces, Edward Lee and Lea Griffin.

General voting day is Nov. 15 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the recreation complex (3310- 37 Ave.), at Ellison Elementary (2400 Fulton Rd.) and at Vernon Secondary (2303 - 18 St.).  More voter information can be found here.

To contact the reporter for this story, email Charlotte Helston at chelston@infotelnews.ca or call 250-309-5230. To contact the editor, email mjones@infotelnews.ca or call 250-718-2724.

News from © iNFOnews, 2014

  • Popular penticton News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile