Candidates announced for Tk’emlups election | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?

Current Conditions Light Rain  7.6°C

Kamloops News

Candidates announced for Tk’emlups election

Tk'emlups te Secwepemc will name a new chief for the first time in twelve years as Shane Gottfriedson was recently elected B.C. Regional Chief.

KAMLOOPS – Tk’emlups te Secwepemc will elect a new chief for the first time in 12 years.

One chief and seven council members will be selected November 14 during the next band election.

First elected as chief of the Tk'emlups band in the early-1990s, Shane Gottfriedson will be stepping down to pursue his provincial aspirations. He was elected this past summer as B.C. Regional Chief.

Four candidates have put their names forward for Gottfriedson’s former position: George Evan Casimir, Frank Paul, James Thomas and current Tk’emlups council member Fred Seymour.

Five out of the seven current councillors are seeking re-election with the exception of Colleen Mosterd-McLean and Seymour. There are a total of 24 candidates vying for a seat on the Tk’emlups band council.

The elections take place Saturday, Nov. 14 at Moccasin Square Gardens on Chief Alex Thomas Way in Kamloops between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Advanced polls are open Saturday, Nov. 7, also at Moccasin Square Gardens between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

To contact a reporter for this story, email Dana Reynolds at or call 250-819-6089. To contact an editor, email or call 250-718-2724.

News from © iNFOnews, 2015

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile