Announcing the nominees for the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Kelowna News

Announcing the nominees for the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards

Okanagan Arts Award sculptures in progress. The sculptures are a collaborative project with Cool Arts Artists and previous Okanagan Arts Awards winners.
Image Credit: Contributed
April 28, 2016 - 3:00 PM

The Arts Council of the Central Okanagan is pleased to announce the nominees for the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards.

The Okanagan Arts Awards were created by ARTSCO in 2007 to celebrate artistic and creative excellence and achievement of artists, in all disciplines. By publicly acknowledging the work of individuals and organizations, the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan places excellence in artistic practice, front and centre as an integral part of our vibrant community.

“The nominations were phenomenal this year”, say Katie Brennan, Executive Director of the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan. “We went from 41 nominations in the Central Okanagan last year to 113!”

Only three nominees in each category will be going through as finalists to the Okanagan Arts Awards Gala Evening, held Saturday, May 28, 2016, at the Habitat in downtown Kelowna.

Finalists will be announced sometime next week.

2016 Okanagan Arts Awards Nominees:

Artistic Excellence - Visual Art:

Constance Bachman
Kelsie Balehowsky
Rose Braun
Jody Bruce
Connor Charlesworth
Danielle Englesby
Jane Everett
Erica Hawkes
Natasha Harvey
Asher J Klassen
Laurie Koss
Suzanne Le Stage
Wanda Lock
Linda Lovisa
Jolene Mackie
Moyna Macdonnell
Don Makela
Brandy Masch
Aaron Metz
Carrie Mitchell
Heather Lynne Parlane
Sarah Parsons
Bramble Lee Pryde
Shayla Ritchie
Grant Robinson
Laura Widmer
Bobby Vandenhoorn
Connie Vetter-Johnson
Meghan Wise
Nicole Young
Kyle Zsomber

Artistic Excellence - Dance:

Kinshira Performance Troupe
Lucy Hazelwood (LU KI Dance Productions)
Loretta Lachner
Janessa McGrath
Samantha Sambrielaz

Artistic Excellence - Music:

Alexandra Babbel, Opera Kelowna
Stephen Buck (Honour in the Arts)
Kelly Derrickson
Andrew Judah
Adam Meachem
Hilary Ross (Syren and the Waves)
Darren Williams
Wild Son

Artistic Excellence - Literature:

Ronald Derrickson
Lesley Anne Evans
Cherie Hanson
Ashley Little
Michael V. Smith

Artistic Excellence - Theatre:

Cori Derickson
Kinshira Preformance Troupe
David Kopp
Robert Mason-Brown
Shangning Zhu
Randall J. Robinson

Artistic Excellence - Time Based Media:

Benjamin Musgrave
Todd Ramsay
Nick Schafer - Fresh Finish Media

Artistic Excellence - Applied Arts:

Cortnee Chulo
Missy Mackintosh
Bri Stein
Art Felt Collaborative

Emerging Artist:

Kelsie Balehowsky
Connor Charlesworth
Danielle Englesby
Asher J Klassen
Jolene Mackie
Tascheleia Marangoni
Janessa McGrath
Benjamin Musgrave
Hilary Ross (Syren and the Waves)
Connie Vetter-Johnson
Nicole Young
Shangning Zhu

Art & Business:

Brazen Edwards
Cedar Creek Estate Winery
Jenn Kyllo - Pinot & Picasso
Linda Lovisa - New Moon Art Gallery
Carrie Mayhew - Ginger Creative
Bramble Lee Pryde - Wolf + Sadie
Bri Stein - Bri Stein Artistry

Business Supporter:

Float Space
Investors Group
The Heritage - Retirement Living
Raymond James Ltd
Rileys Pub

Community Impact:

Opera Kelowna
Cool Arts
Federation of Canadian Artists - Central Okanagan Chapter
Jazz Jam
Kelowna Arts Council
Snc?wips Heritage Museum
Lake Country Art Gallery
Okanagan Symphony Orchestra
Summer Arts Scene for Youth (SASFY)
Suk’?t?msqilx? West Kelowna Arts Council


Opera Kelowna
Cool Arts
Shimshon Obadia
Bramble Lee Pryde
Hilary Ross (Syren and the Waves)
Connie Vetter-Johnson
Darren Williams
Kyle Zsombor

Lifetime Achievement:

Sharon McCoubrey

News from © iNFOnews, 2016

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile