Current Conditions

Mostly Cloudy

ELECTIONS 2014: Results from around the region

November 17, 2014 - 12:42 PM

KAMLOOPS - Voters have spoken and while there are only two new faces around the council table in Kamloops there are a slew of new faces around the rest of the region.

Council tables in both Clinton and Sun Peaks will remain unchanged with all incumbents unchallenged but in Ashcroft, Barriere, Chase, Lillooet and Merritt a change at the head of the table is set to take place with the election of new mayors in each of those towns.

In Kamloops Denis Walsh and Dieter Dudy are the only newcomers to the council table, though Walsh has previously served on council and Dudy fell just a couple hundred votes shy of the mayoral seat in the 2011 election.

Walsh and Dudy will replace Nelly Dever, the only outgoing councillor, and the empty seat left by Nancy Bepple when she resigned because of health reasons in March.

ASHCROFT (voter turnout 741 of 1,484)

Jack Jeyes 352
Dave Belcham 201
Jerry Fiddick (councillor 2011-2014) 183

Barbara Roden 555
Doreen Lambert** 543
Al Mertens 390
Alfie Trill 350

John Kidder 336
Jessica Clement 331

BARRIERE (voter turnout 703 of 1,490)

Virginia Smith( councillor 2011-2014) 506
Bill Humphreys** 191

Ward Stamer** 561
Donna Kibble 458
Al Fortin 450
Amanda Sabyan** 424
Mike Fennell 406
Pat Paula** 361

Glen Stanley** 325
Harry Eberts 271
Christine Janis 182
Shane Quidding 161

CACHE CREEK (voter turnout 441 of 851)

John Ranta** 278
Marg Durnin 161

Lisa Dafoe** 339
Herb Hofer** 309
Wyatt McMurray** 278
David Dubois 266

Martin Dalsin 242
Jim Lambert 211

CHASE (voter turnout 1,041 of 2,210)

Rick Berrigan (councillor 2011-2014) 532
Harry Danyluk 346
Jocelyn Nash 156

Ali Maki 591
Steven Scott** 512
David Lepsoe** 480
Nancy Egely 476

Rod Crowe** 469
Carman Lynch 330
Val Donnelly 288
Don Price 260
Diane Overton 215

CLEARWATER (voter turnout 781 of 1,380)

John Harwood** 481
Jon Kreke (councillor 2011-2014) 294

Ken Kjenstad** 679
Shelley Sim** 667
Merlin Blackwell** 598
Gordon Heisterman** 545
Dennis Greffard 533
Barry Banford** 505

Melanie Harwood 412

CLINTON (fully acclaimed)

James Rivett**

Wayne Marchant**
Diana Guerin**
Susan Swan**
David Park**

LILLOOET (voter turnout 1,013 of 1,948)

Margaret Lampman (councillor 2011-2014) 437
Ted Anchor 235
Doug Greenman 171
Dennis Bontron** 170

Laurie Hopfl 621
Kevin Aitken 585
Barbara Wiebe 506
John Courchesne 412

Wendy Parker** 311
Kevin Goforth 268
Bruce Lohnes 251
Norman O’Connell 219
Karl Kempfle 197
Lloyd Stock 148
Debra Roberts 134
Andrew Karanfilis 128
Laureen Weget 109

LOGAN LAKE (voter turnout 553 of 1,752)

Robin Smith** (acclaimed)

Al Smith** 404
Claire Newman** 399
Garry Youd** 381
Jim Noble 372
Charlie Weir** 356
June Waddell 290

Melanie Gilmar 286
Amy Irinevna 246

LYTTON (voter turnout 85 of 193)

Jessoa Lightfoot** (acclaimed)

Dallas Hay 77
Tiffany Haugen 61
Robert Austen** 54
Jan Polderman 47

Andrew Fandrich 41
Richard Swan 25
Hugh Poole 16

MERRITT (voter turnout 1,841 of 5,426)

Neil Menard (councillor 2011-2014) 994

Susan Roline** 522
Mike Jolly 297

Kurt Christopherson** 1,336
Dave Baker** 1,241
Mike Goetz** 1,120
Diana Norgaard 1,116
Linda Brown 1,099
Ginny Prowal 824

Bruce McMurchy 765
Harry Kroeker** 732

SALMON ARM (voter turnout 5,082 of 13,393)

Nancy Cooper** 2,343
Marty Bootsma  1,088
Debbie Cannon (councillor 2011-2014) 950
Ian Wickett 657

Alan Harrison** 3,060
Ken Jamieson** 2,759
Chad Eliason** 2,392
Tim Lavery 2,333
Kevin Flynn 2,062
Louise Wallace Richmond 1,783

Ivan Idzan 1,723
Tim Giandomenico 1,544
Tom Birch 1,231
Jim Kimmerly 1,164
Ruth Thomas 1,126
Jay Cadeau 608
Keith Chancellor 579
Diana Altschul 470
Wayne Masters 368

SUN PEAKS (fully acclaimed)

Al Raine**

Ines Popig**
Mario Pozza**
Mike Forster**

** Incumbent

To contact a reporter for this story, email Jennifer Stahn at or call 250-819-3723. To contact an editor, email or call 250-718-2724.

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2014
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular penticton News
  • Comments
  • Saying goodbye to Kelowna’s perogy king
    KELOWNA – Whether you knew him from the slopes of Big White or his restaurant in downtown Kelowna, you never forgot the first time you tried Cecil’s perogies. Cecil Warwaruk move
  • 'A dreadful idea took shape:' Father of twin boys killed in bobsled crash speaks
    CALGARY - An early morning text was the first warning to Jason Caldwell that something was wrong. "Jason. Do you know where your boys are?" He'd just had dinner with Evan
  • Penticton RCMP stop suspected drug trafficker
    PENTICTON - There is one less drug dealer operating in the city following efforts by Penticton RCMP. Police spokesperson Cpl. Don Wrigglesworth says the detachment’s Targeted Enforceme
  • Man found guilty in brutal 2014 assault at Vernon bar
    VERNON - A man has been convicted of aggravated assault in relation to a brutal attack two years ago at a Vernon bar. Lucas Slizak, 25, was found guilty this week following a trial in Vernon
  • Penticton Indian Band elects new chief
    PENTICTON - The Penticton Indian Band has elected a new chief. Chad Eneas triumphed over incumbent Jonathan Kruger and fellow candidate Joe Jack at last night’s election, Oct. 19.

View Site in: Desktop | Mobile