$20,000 Radcliffe Foundation prize to go to short film about refugee crisis

Image Credit: istockphoto.com

VANCOUVER - Sophie Gregoire Trudeau, Sarah McLachlan and Atom Egoyan are among the jury members for a new Canadian film prize concerning the global refugee crisis.

The $20,000 prize comes from the Radcliffe Foundation, in collaboration with the Vancouver International Film Festival.

Organizers say it will go to a "call-to-action" film "that inspires, engages and empowers Canadians to take action on the global refugee crisis."

The winner will be chosen through a juried and public vote.

Other jury members include Louise Arbour, Craig Kielburger, Ivan Fecan, Frank Giustra, Nicolas Moyer and Ryan Holmes.

Short films, which can be up to 60 seconds in length, can be submitted at refugeestories.viff.org.

The winning video will be screened during this year's Vancouver film fest, which kicks off Sept. 29.

Dianna Gallagher (left) and Shar Froese discuss the mat Froese just gave Gallagher and challenges living on the street.
How a practical home-made gift is making nights a little easier for a homeless Kamloops woman
KAMLOOPS - Living on the streets of Kamloops for two months now, Diana Gallagher and her dog Rocky have been sleeping rough, in doorways, on cardboard and in shelters when she can swing it. And while it's not much, her situation just improved

Top News