Today's the day: Westside-Kelowna goes to the polls - InfoNews

Current Conditions


Today's the day: Westside-Kelowna goes to the polls

Image Credit: Elections BC
July 10, 2013 - 1:18 PM


Last June Ben Stewart gave up his seat as MLA for Westside-Kelowna to allow a byelection giving Premier Christy Clark a second chance at getting a seat in the provincial legislature. Today, Kelowna voters decide whether they want the premier of B.C. to become their new MLA.

After dropping the election writ on June 12, Clark has been spending a lot more time in the Okanagan campaigning for the Liberal party - but not without opposition. NDP's Carole Gordon is also running in the byelection and with Adrian Dix at her side, reminding constituents about her strong roots in the Westside-Kelowna community.

B.C. Conservative Sean Upshaw, who ran in Penticton for the May election, is also joining Clark and Gordon in the race. With independent Dayleen Van Ryswyk as well as five other candidates in the running, the byelection has showcased a range of political activism. All eight candidates, including Clark, came together last Thursday at a public forum to share their respective positions on key issues for the Westside community

Tonight Clark and Liberal Party supporters will be stationed at downtown Kelowna's Delta Grand Hotel on Water Street to watch as voting results come in after 8 p.m. Carole Gordon will be joined by Adrian Dix hosting the NDP's election night party at the Streaming Cafe on Leon Avenue.

General voting stations are open today from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. To find out where to vote Elections B.C. has posted all the locations in the Westside-Kelowna voting district.

Candidates appearing on the ballots are:

Jag Bhandari for B.C. Vision Party

Christy Clark for the B.C. Liberal Party

Carole Gordon for the B.C. NDP Party

John Marks, Independent

Silverado Brooks Socrates, Independent

Sean Upshaw for the B.C. Conservative Party

Dayleen Van Ryswyk, Independent

Korry Zepik, Independent

Westside-Kelowna electoral district.
Westside-Kelowna electoral district.
Image Credit: SOURCE/Elections BC

To contact the reporter for this story, email Julie Whittet at or call (250)718-0428.



News from © iNFOnews, 2013

  • Popular vernon News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile