Current Conditions


Five directors on short list for prestigious Siminovitch Prize in Theatre

October 03, 2016 - 6:29 AM

OTTAWA - Five directors are in the running for this year's $100,000 Siminovitch Prize in Theatre.

Edmonton's Jonathan Christenson, Toronto's Ravi Jain and Ross Manson, Christian Lapointe of Quebec City and Nadia Ross of Wakefied, Que., are on the short list, which was increased from four to five this year due to the "high quality of nominations."

"The jury found the work of these five shortlisted directors breathtaking," jury chairman Bob White said Monday in a release. "These are bold visionaries who are shaping the future of theatre now in creating experiences that are challenging, transformative and magical."

The prize, Canada's largest in theatre, will be awarded Oct. 28 at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa.

Created in 2001 in honour of scientist Lou Siminovitch and his late wife Elinore, the prize recognizes a body of work in design, direction and playwriting in three-year cycles.

Recipients of the prize choose a protege to whom they award $25,000 of the total prize money.

The 2016 jury includes White, Micheline Chevrier, Linda Gaboriau, Mieko Ouchi and Sarah Garton Stanley.

News from © The Canadian Press, 2016
The Canadian Press

  • Popular vernon News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile