Okanagan College board chair re-elected | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Kelowna News

Okanagan College board chair re-elected

Tom Styffe has been re-elected as chair of the Okanagan Collage board of governors.
Image Credit: Contributed
February 02, 2015 - 1:08 PM

KELOWNA - Tom Styffe has been re-elected as chair of Okanagan College’s board of governors.

In an election held at the year’s first board meeting last week Styffe, who has served for two years in the role, was chosen again as chair. Doug Manning, who has served on the board since 2010, was elected as Vice Chair.

“I’m proud to be in this role,” explained Styffe. “I have the privilege of working with a tremendously dedicated group of colleagues on the Board – people who understand and appreciate what Okanagan College means to so many students and to the communities it serves.

“This coming year will be a very important one for Okanagan College as we revisit our strategic plan,” Styffe notes. “We will be connecting with our internal community and to the people and organizations of the region to help us develop that plan.”

Manning is an educational consultant, and was previously CEO, President and Director of Bridges.com, North America’s leading provider of career and educational planning.

“We have a lot on our plates in the coming year with the strategic plan and other major initiatives and I’m pleased I’ll be able to contribute in my role as vice chair,” said Manning.

Connie Denesiuk, who served as the Board’s vice chair in 2014, explained that she decided to step back from the role because of her decision to run as a candidate in the next federal election in the South Okanagan West Kootenay riding.

Besides Styffe, Manning and Denesiuk, other appointed members of the Board of Governors are: Christopher Derickson, Charity Gerbrandt, Susan Johal, Joe Maciel, and Robert McGowan. Elected members are Wesley Favro (student), Spencer Lupul (student), Laura Thurnheer (representing Okanagan College faculty), CJ Mitchell (representing support staff), Michelle Nicholson (ex officio, representing Education Council), and President Jim Hamilton (ex officio).

News from © iNFOnews, 2015

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile