OCAA opens nominations for annual Alumni Awards - InfoNews

Current Conditions


OCAA opens nominations for annual Alumni Awards

February 13, 2014 - 2:48 PM

Nominations are now open for the Okanagan College Alumni Association’s (OCAA) 2014 Distinguished Alumni and Young Alumni Awards. 

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes alumni of Okanagan College and Okanagan University College for their contributions to their communities and demonstration of excellence in the areas of: leadership, the environment, business or industry, public or community service, the arts, and/ or support for OUC or Okanagan College.

The Young Alumni Award will recognize the outstanding contributions of an alumna or alumnus who is under the age of 35.

To qualify as distinguished or young alumni, nominees must have completed a certificate, diploma, degree, apprenticeship program or have completed a minimum of 30 academic credits at Okanagan College or OUC.

“Given this is the College’s 50th year and our Association’s 25th anniversary, we have had a lot of wonderful alumni highlighted for their accomplishments,” said Kara Kazimer, OCAA President. “We’re looking forward to honouring more great achievements with our awards this year while recognizing 50 years of alumni excellence.”

The deadline for nominations is Monday, Feb. 24, 2014. Nominations may be made by completing an online form available at: www.alumni.okanagan.bc.ca/alumni-awards.

Past Distinguished Alumni Award recipients include: Ryan Holmes, Founder and CEO Hootsuite; Hon. George Abbott (’71), former MLA Shuswap and Minister of Education; Lee Claremont (‘89), award-winning B.C. artist; Launi Skinner (’85), CEO of First West Credit Union; Don Turri (’75), Managing Director of the Kelowna office of MacKay LLP Chartered Accountants; Nick Arkle (’81), Chief Forester with Gorman Bros Mill and local humanitarian; Robert Louie (’75), Chief of the Westbank First Nation; Dr. Jayne Brooks (’76), retired Director of Learning and Teaching, Okanagan College; Alan Storey (’80), an internationally recognized sculptor; Jim Cookson (’82), business manager and entrepreneur on the international stage.

Past Young Alumni Awards have been presented to: Jon Garratt, Chef and co-owner of Whisk Cake Co.; Shayne Koyczan (’98), author, poet and spoken word performer; Ryan Donn (’03), musician and educator; brothers Todd (’03) and Mark Regier (’04), owners of Prestige Collision; Chris Gibbons (’07), Finance Manager of Westhills Aggregates; Corinne Inman (’02), owner Morpheus Graphics; Michelle Boshard (’97), freshwater scientist and environmentalist.

The 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award and Young Alumni Award will be selected by the Alumni Association Board of Directors and presented at a reception in June. The reception will recognize five decades of alumni excellence as Okanagan College celebrates its 50th anniversary.

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2014
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular penticton News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile