Current Conditions


Civic and Community Awards finalists announced

March 17, 2014 - 4:32 PM

KELOWNA – The finalists for the 39th Annual Civic and Community Awards were announced at Kelowna Council Monday.

Active Living and Culture Division Director Jim Gabriel says this was a record year for nominations.

“It was a record breaking year for the number of nominations we received, which made our selection committee’s job even harder,” he says.

“Kelowna is a great place to live not only because of our surroundings but more so because of the people who live and work in this community. The awards capture how inspired we are as a community and highlight our residents, businesses and organizations that have made a significant difference by enhancing the lives of others and making our city a better place to live.”

The 2013 finalists by category are:

Man of the Year

Jim Belshaw, Sean Pihl and Darryl Reuter

Woman of the Year

Carole Bridges, Jody Pihl and Rose Sexsmith

Young Male of the Year

Johnathan Charlton, John Gray and Kolby Zinger-Harris

Young Female of the Year

Melissa Curatolo, Freya Kellet and Pauline Schrott

Volunteer Organization of the Year

Small/medium business

Mavazi Apparel, Pace Sports Fitness and Urban Harvest

Large business

Cooper’s Foods (Rutland), Grant Thornton LLP and Royal LePage.

Honour in the Arts

Jan Harvey, Yuriko Larson and Glenna Turnbull

Teen Honour in the Arts

Mikayla Jones, Mandy Jong and Marko Prodanovic

Female Augie Ciancone Memorial

Hannah Johnson, Jacquline Sellers and Carys Swann

Male Augie Ciancone Memorial

Liam Duncan, Josiah Joseph and Aaron Stroda

Athletic Team of the Year

KCS Senior boys basketball team,  KCS Senior girls volleyball team and UBCO Heat women’s cross-country running team

Bob Giordano Memorial

Dino Gini, Dan Proulx and John Sharples

Male Athlete of the Year

Alex Hart, Eric Neilson and Josh Zakala

Female Athlete of the Year

Julianne Delaurier, Danielle Gruber and Keely Watts-Watling

Champion for the Environment


John Campbell McInnes, Jenica Frisque and Judie Steeves


House of Rose Winery, London Drugs and Summerhill Winery.


Award recipients will be revealed May 1 as part of the gala ceremony at the Kelowna Community Theatre.

Tickets are on sale now at a price of $25 each. To purchase, call 250-469-8811.

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2014
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular kelowna News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile