Chief Byron Lewis wins another term in OKIB election | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Vernon News

Chief Byron Lewis wins another term in OKIB election

FILE PHOTO: Okanagan Indian Band chief Byron Louis
Image Credit: Submitted
March 31, 2021 - 11:10 AM

Incumbent Okanagan Indian Band Chief Byron Louis has won his sixth term as chief taking almost twice the number of votes as his closest runner-up.

Chief Louis, who was first elected chief in 2011, took 257 votes in the election held March 30, which sees him stay in the position of chief for another two-year term.

Councillors Garett Lawrence, Valerie Chiba, Sharon Cullen and Cindy Brewer all lost their seats, while incumbents Tim Isaac, Allan Louis, Sheldon Pierre Louis, Ryan Oliverius and Dan Wilson, all hung onto their seats.

Viola Brown, David Marchand, Rochelle Saddleman, Joseph Jack and Rachel Marchand were all newly voted onto the 10 person council.

A total of 676 ballots were cast and Chief Louis took 257 votes to remain the top job. In the race for chief, Reynolds Bonneau came in second place with 142 votes, Garett Lawrence got 110, Daniel Wilson 103, with Valerie Chiba getting 40 votes and William Robert Wilson 18.

According to its website, the Okanagan Indian Band currently has about 2,030 members.

To contact a reporter for this story, email Ben Bulmer or call (250) 309-5230 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

News from © iNFOnews, 2021

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile