Byelection date set for Kamloops City Council | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Kamloops News

Byelection date set for Kamloops City Council

Image Credit: FILE PHOTO
June 27, 2017 - 4:38 PM

KAMLOOPS – It was a close vote in council chambers, but the people of Kamloops will head to the polls on Sept. 30 to vote for a new mayor and two councillors.

The mayor's chair and two councillor seats are up for grabs with the June 30 resignations of Mayor Peter Milobar, Coun. Marg Spina and Coun. Ken Christian.

Today, June 27, council voted 4 to 3 in favour of a Sept. 30 general voting day.

Coun. Ken Christian, Coun. Dieter Dudy and Coun. Pat Wallace wanted an earlier byelection date and voted against the motion.

"I'm harkened by words of Coun. Spina that it's not about the Tuesday meetings, it's about all the work that needs to be done in the City of Kamloops," Coun. Christian says. "It should be served by a full council. Issues are being held up and delayed. I think we have to do better for the citizens of Kamloops."

Coun. Tina Lange says voter turnout and civic participation will be better with the  Sept. 30 voting day. 

"Right now we are operating well as a small council with an interim mayor. Historically voter turnout in a byelection is low, it's less than 10 per cent. If we are going to spend $120,000 I believe we should have as fulsome of an election as possible."

Along with the general election day, there will be three advance voting days held at the Heritage House at 100 Lorne Street. 

Mobile polls, like the type that went to 11 care homes in 2015, will not be available. Mail-in ballots will be used instead.

Recommendations from City staff include hiring a Chief Election Officer on a contract basis to ease the extra workload of the byelection.

"As it has become apparent over the past few elections that an unreasonable number of extra hours are required for the Corporate Officer and Deputy Corporate Officer to conduct an election in addition to their officer workloads and duties," a report from City staff states.

Polling stations will be set up at the following locations on general voting day:

  • Rayleigh Elementary
  • Arthur Stevenson Elementary
  • Westmount Elementary
  • Parkrest Elementary
  • NorKam Secondary
  • Beattie Elementary
  • Dufferin Elementary
  • Aberdeen Elementary
  • South Sahali Elementary
  • Lloyd George Elementary
  • Valleyview Secondary
  • Dallas Elementary

To contact a reporter for this story, email Kim Anderson or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

News from © iNFOnews, 2017

  • Popular penticton News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile