B.C. ELECTION 2017: Eye on the Shuswap race - InfoNews

Current Conditions

Mostly Cloudy

B.C. ELECTION 2017: Eye on the Shuswap race

From left to right, Shuswap MLA candidates Greg Kyllo for the B.C. Liberals, Sylvia Lindgren for the B.C. NDP, and Kevin Babcock for the B.C. Green Party
Image Credit: CONTRIBUTED/Facebook
May 09, 2017 - 6:30 PM

SHUSWAP - Voters in the Shuswap riding will decide today whether to re-elect their MLA or usher in a new representative.

Four candidates are vying for the seat: incumbent MLA Greg Kyllo for the Liberals, Sylvia Lindgren for the NDP, Kevin Babcock for the Greens and Kyle McCormack for the Libertarians.

The Shuswap has a history of voting Liberal, and Kyllo won by a healthy margin in the 2013 election. He took home nearly 48 per cent of the vote, compared to the runner up, Steve Gunner of the NDP, who had 29.5 per cent.

There are 40,978 registered voters in the Shuswap riding. In 2013, 60 per cent of registered voters came out to cast their ballots.

Read more about the election here. 

To contact a reporter for this story, email Charlotte Helston or call 250-309-5230 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2017
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular kamloops News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile