Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?

Current Conditions Partly Cloudy  22.0°C

Kamloops News

FUHR: Two of this year’s Order of Canada recipients from the Okanagan

Stephen Fuhr, Member of Parliament for Kelowna-Lake Country
Image Credit: SUBMITTED
July 08, 2018 - 12:00 PM



From the fields of science, community activism, literature, politics and sports, this year’s Order of Canada recipients were announced on June 29th, 2018 on behalf of Governor General Julie Payette. It gives me great pleasure to share with you that two of the recipients are remarkable women with strong links to the Central Okanagan.

Bev Busson, from the North Okanagan region, is appointed to Member of the Order of Canada for “her lifelong commitment to public safety and for her dedicated service to Canadians through her involvement in multiple national and regional safety and justice initiatives.”

Bev was one of the first females to join the RCMP when they opened their ranks to women in the early 1970s. By then, Bev had graduated from UBC Law School and subsequently went on to become the Commanding Officer for the Province of Saskatchewan and the first woman to lead the RCMP, becoming the 21st commissioner in December 2006. Bev retired to the Shuswap and became an important member of the Okanagan College Foundation Board for many years.

Deanna Hamilton, from Westbank First Nation, is appointed Officer of the Order of Canada for her “visionary contributions to First Nations fiscal management and governance, which have led to greater independence for Indigenous communities across Canada.”

Returning to her community in the ‘70s, Deanna realized that without proper funding, most aboriginal communities, hers included, would never be able to provide the infrastructure that most non-native communities take for granted – sewers, water, sidewalks and street lights. Deanna joined the band council, developed the Westbank First Nation property tax system, and then sought out a model that could be adapted to enable First Nations to raise funds to create the essential on-reserve infrastructure so essential to their progress and development. With Deanna’s remarkable tenacity, leadership, and guidance, the First Nations Finance Authority sold its first Moody’s rated bond issue in 2014.

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation and those who have taken to heart the motto of the Order: DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM (“They desire a better country”).

Appointments are made by the governor general on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada in the name of all Canadians.

Appointees are awarded one of three levels under the Order: Member (C.M.), which recognizes outstanding contributions at the local or regional level or in a special field of activity; Officer (O.C.), which recognizes national service or achievement; and Companion (C.C.), the highest honour, which recognizes national pre-eminence or international service or achievement.

Any person or group is welcome to nominate a deserving individual as a possible candidate for appointment to the Order of Canada. More information on the nomination process, and on this year’s recipients, can be found at the website of the governor general at <> .

On behalf of our community and those throughout the Okanagan who have benefitted from Bev and Deanna’s commitment and contribution to our nation, I offer our sincere appreciation and congratulations.

—Stephen Fuhr is the Member of Parliament for Kelowna-Lake Country

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won’t censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor. 

News from © iNFOnews, 2018

View Site in: Desktop | Mobile