Tk'emlups Indian Band re-elects chief | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions Mostly Cloudy  6.2°C

Tk'emlups Indian Band re-elects chief

Image Credit:

Shane Gottfriedson was re-elected into his fourth term as chief of the Tk'emlups Indian Band with 250 votes, Nov. 10.

Fred Seymour, Colleen Mosterd-Mclean, Richard Jules, Edward Jenson, Janet Jules, Rosanne Joan Casimir and Katy Gottfriedson were elected as councillors.

The new council will serve a three-year term for the approximately 1,000-member band living on about 33,000 acres of reserve land.

Nacoma George, communications co-ordinator for the band, said voter turnout was as expected.

"From the last chief and council election we had 417 voters. This year we had 400," he said. "So we're 17 down from a few years ago. It's fairly close."

The next chief and council election is expected to take place in 2015.

— Jessica Wallace

News from © iNFOnews, 2012

  • Popular penticton News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile