Sarah Burke, 2010 hockey team among Olympic Hall of Fame's 2012 inductees | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?

Sarah Burke, 2010 hockey team among Olympic Hall of Fame's 2012 inductees

TORONTO - Wrestler Daniel Igali, the 2010 Olympic men's hockey team and the late Sarah Burke are among this year's inductees into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame.

Cross-country skier Beckie Scott, freestyle skier Jean-Luc Brassard, the 2006 Olympic women's hockey team and synchronized swim coach Julie Sauve will also be inducted at a gala Sept. 21 at Toronto's Air Canada Centre.

Former Canadian Olympic Committee president Michael Chambers will receive the Olympic Order.

The honour goes to people who have "served the Olympic movement with distinction."

Igali won an Olympic gold medal in freestyle wrestling at the 2000 Summer Games in Sydney, Australia.

The 2010 men's hockey team beat the U.S. for gold on Sidney Crosby's overtime goal.

The victory pushed Canada to 14 gold medals, the most won by a single country at a Winter Games.

Scott, a three-time Olympian, won gold in cross-country skiing in 2002 and followed that up with a silver medal in 2006.

Brassard was the forerunner of Canada's current dominance in freestyle skiing. The four-time Olympian won gold in moguls in 1994.

Coached by Melody Davidson, Canada dominated the 2006 Olympic women's hockey tournament with their closest game a 4-1 win over Sweden for gold.

Burke, a freestyle skier, not only won four X-Games titles in superpipe, but also worked tirelessly to get the event added to the Winter Games.

Her wish was finally granted for the 2014 Games in Sochi, Russia, but Burke died tragically in a training accident this past winter. Burke will go into the Hall as a builder.

Sauve has coached Canadians to the Olympic podium in synchronized swimming, including 1992 gold medallist Sylvie Frechette.

Chambers served as president of the Canadian Olympic Committee from 2001 to 2010 and was vice-chairman of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games bid committee.

The Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame currently has 411 members and is located in the new Sports Hall of Fame at Calgary's Canada Olympic Park.

News from © The Canadian Press, 2012
The Canadian Press

  • Popular vernon News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile