New Penticton Indian Band council elected

Image Credit: iStock

PENTICTON - The Penticton Indian Band has a new council following elections yesterday, Dec. 7.

There were 26 candidates for the eight council positions this year, with several new councillors elected, according to media release.

Elliot Tonasket, Suzanne Johnson, Naomi Gabriel and Denise Lecoy are newcomers to council, while Joseph Pierre, Clint George, Tim Lezard and former chief Jonathan Kruger were returned for another term.

Chad Eneas was elected chief of the Penticton Indian Band in a separate election that took place Oct. 19.

The new council will meet Friday, Dec. 9 at the band administration office to sign their oaths of office.

To contact a reporter for this story, email Steve Arstad or call 250-488-3065 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

ALBAS: Income tax season is upon us
  OPINION This week’s report is a reminder that in a little over a month, April 30, the majority of Canadians need to complete and file their 2017 Canada Income Tax returns to avoid potential late penalties.

Top News