Here's the final list of candidates for the 2018 Kamloops election | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions

Mostly Cloudy

Kamloops News

Here's the final list of candidates for the 2018 Kamloops election

Image Credit: iStock
September 14, 2018 - 4:00 PM

KAMLOOPS - In just over a month, it’ll be time to vote for the candidates you would like to see represent your city, region and board of education.

Take make things easier, here are all the candidates running for an elected seat with either on Kamloops city council, the Thompson-Nicola Regional District Board of Board of Education.

Today, Sept. 14, was the last day for candidates to submit their nomination packages. 

Here are the 2018 candidate nominees:

City of Kamloops

The city's current mayor Ken Christian will be seeking re-election and the only other candidate challenging Christian's seat for mayor is William Turnbull.

As of Sept. 14, more than 20 candidates have entered the race for a seat on Kamloops city council.

The city's current councillors that are seeking re-election include:

Donovan Cavers 

Ray Dhaliwal

Dieter Dudy

Kathy Sinclair

Arjun Singh

Denis J. Walsh.

Coun. Tina Lange and Coun. Pat Wallace will not be seeking re-election.

New candidates running for a seat at the Kamloops council table includes:

Jennifer D. Adams

Nicholas Adams

Dale Bass

Chris Bose

Corally Delwo

Dennis Giesbrecht 

Shawn Harnett

Sadie Hunter

Jimmy Johal

Stephen Karpuk

Caroline King

Alison Klie

Mike O'Reilly

Bill Sarai 

Gerald Kenyon Watson

Go here for more information on what a councillor's roles and responsibilities are.

Thompson-Nicola Regional District

For the regional district, the candidates nominated for board director includes:

“A” (Wells Gray Country)

Tim Pennell

Carol Schaffer

“B” (Thompson Headwaters)

Stephen Quinn

Albert Venor

“E” (Bonaparte Plateau)

Bill Mackenzie

Ross Tapping

Sally Watson

“I” (Blue Sky Country)

Daryll Marinello

Steven Rice

“J” (Copper Desert Country)

Ronaye Elliot

Corrine LeBourdais

“L” (Grasslands)

Ken Gillis

Mollie Routledge

John Taylor

“M” (Beautiful Nicola Valley – North)

David Laird

Linda M. Murray

Sam Roline

“N” (Beautiful Nicola Valley – South)

Herb Graham

“O” (Lower North Thompson)

Bill Humphreys

Bill Kershaw

“P” (Rivers and the Peaks)

Mel Rothenburger

For more information on the role of a board director or the biographies of candidates go here.

Board of Education

The candidates nominated for a school trustee position includes:

Heather Grieve

Kathleen Karpuk 

Beat Klossner 

Kerri Schill 

Joe Small

Meghan Wade 

John O'Fee 

Adam Jensen

Donovan Cavers

Bowen Cooluris

To contact a reporter for this story, email Karen Edwards or call (250) 819-3723 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

News from © iNFOnews, 2018

  • Popular kamloops News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile