Here's the list of candidates for the 2018 Vernon election | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?

Vernon News

Here's the list of candidates for the 2018 Vernon election

FILE PHOTO - A man casts his vote for the 2011 federal election in Toronto in this May 2, 2011 photo.
Image Credit: THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chris Young
Original Publication Date September 14, 2018 - 4:00 PM

VERNON - Vernon will have a new mayor next term and you will have 20 choices for councillor in the Oct. 20 municipal election. 

The deadline for candidates to register passed at 4 p.m. today and these are your final list of candidates in the upcoming election. 


Four people are running for mayor, none of them have previously held office. 

Victor Cumming

Art Gourley

Erik Olesen

Darrin Taylor

Akbal Mund will not be seeking re-election for mayor but has instead put his name forth for city councillor. 

City Councillor

There are 20 candidates are running for city council. Go here to learn more about what a city councillor does. We have profiles for some of the candidates, you can click their names to learn more. 

Akbal Mund

Scott Anderson

David Deshane

Teresa Durning

Kelly Fehr

Jasmine Finlay

Sherrilee Franks

Kari Gares

Donald Jefcoat

Lily Kerr

Rick Lavin

Shawn Lee

Gordon Leighton

Kevin Lepp

Jamie Morrow

Dalvir Nahal

Brian Quiring

Dawn Tucker

Terry Vulcano

Sam Zaharia

Go here to see how much city council will be getting paid after Nov. 1.

Candidates for the office of school trustees

Mollie Bono

Ronald Burton

Jenn Comazzetto

Paula Harned

Nicole Makohoniuk

Mark Olsen

Mark Rivette

Christine Tujik

Tom Williamson

Coldstream Mayor

Bill Firman

Jim Garlick

Coldstream City Council

Pat Cochrane

Doug Dirk

Richard Enns

Stephanie Hoffman

Ruth Hoyte

Gyula Kiss

Glen Taylor

Spallumcheen Mayor

Janice Brown

Christine Fraser

Spallumcheen City Council

John Bakker

Andrew Casson

Carolyn Farris

Christine Lemaire

Gerry Popoff

Joe Van Tienhoven

Todd York

Spallumcheen School Trustees

Carolyn Farris

Tennile Lachmuth

Regional District North Okanagan

Electoral area "B"

Bob Flemming

Myles McGovern

Electoral area "C"

Mike Randell

Amanda Shatzko

Electoral area "D"

Rick Fairbairn

Electoral area "E"

Hank Cameron

Electoral area "F"

Denis Delisle

Lori Heins

— This story was updated at 11 a.m. Oct. 19, 2018 to remove David Hesketh's name from the list of candidates. Hesketh died on Sept. 21, 2018. 

To contact a reporter for this story, email Shelby Thevenot or call (250) 819-6089 or email the editor You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won’t censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

News from © iNFOnews, 2018

  • Popular vernon News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile