Greater Vernon Chamber elects new president and board | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Vernon News

Greater Vernon Chamber elects new president and board

Image Credit: Contributed
October 07, 2016 - 11:07 AM

VERNON - Dauna Kennedy Grant is the new president of the Greater Vernon Chamber of Commerce following the Chamber’s Annual General Meeting. 

Kennedy Grant is the executive director of the Vernon Public Art Gallery and previously served as vice-president of the Chamber. She was elected at the AGM which was held Tuesday October 4, 2016 and takes over from Tracy Cobb Reeves of Kal Tire who remains with the Board as past-president. 

“It's an honour to be elected President of the chamber, I am eager to continue build on our advocacy efforts in being the voice for business and our members,” says Kennedy Grant who most recently attended the Canadian Chamber AGM in Regina. “I look forward to working with the board to be even more active in positively influencing government to ensure we have a strong economy and a prosperous future.”

The other table officers elected were Markus Schrott (Partner at BDO Canada LLP) who takes over as vice president and Ben Robinson of Valley First who was elected secretary-treasurer. 
Directors at large for 2016-2017 include Jaron Chasca (Alternatives Funeral & Cremation Services), Phil Dyck (Okanagan Real Estate Investments), Adrienne Harris (Portico Property Services), Krysten Kempton (Nixon Wenger), Aly Pain (Aly Pain Professional Coaching Services), Darrin Taylor (Axis Intervention), Rob Tedham (RBC Dominion Securities), Brett VanderHoek (Tolko Industries) and Diana Wilson (Kal Tire).

Dauna Kennedy Grant has been the Executive Director for the Vernon Public Art Gallery since 2008. With over 20 years in the not for profit industry. In addition to overseeing the operations of VPAG, she leads the Steering Committee for the proposed new art gallery facility for the North Okanagan and participates on a variety of community related task forces. As a current board member for the GVCC, Dauna is active on the Policy, Strategic Planning and Membership Committees. In 2012, Dauna was nominated for Business Woman of the Year for her contributions and work in the Arts. Prior to moving to Vernon in 2008, Dauna was very involved in Grande Prairie both professionally and in a volunteer capacity.  Some highlights include working on two community capital campaigns; Centre 2000 and Safety City and being Executive Director for Grande Prairie and Area Safe Communities.

News from © iNFOnews, 2016

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile