ELECTIONS 2014: Who, what, where, when and why | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?

Current Conditions Partly Cloudy  34.7°C

Kamloops News

ELECTIONS 2014: Who, what, where, when and why

Voter cards from the City of Kamloops were accidentally mailed to Sun Rivers residents.
Original Publication Date November 14, 2014 - 4:41 PM

KAMLOOPS - In case you’ve been out of the loop, there’s an election going on. In fact, general election day is this weekend.


Canadian citizens who are 18 years of age or older can vote. You must have lived in B.C. for at least six months and in Kamloops for at least 30 days. Property owners who are Canadian citizens, at least 18 years old, have lived in B.C. at least six months and have owner property in Kamloops for at least 30 days may also vote in the Kamloops civic election.


Bring two pieces of identification with you to vote, at least one with your signature and one with your address.


There are 17 polling stations around the city (see map below) to vote at on Saturday, Nov. 15, with all but Sahali Mall open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. The Sahali Mall polling station will be open during mall hours only, from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.


Kamloops will elect one mayor, eight city councillors and five school trustees.

Mayoral candidates:  Pierre Filisetti, Ben James, Peter Milobar (incumbent) and Dallas Paisley.

Council candidates: Nancy Bepple, Donovan Cavers (incumbent), Ken Christian (incumbent), Nelly Dever (incumbent), Bob Dieno, Dieter Dudy, Annette Glover, Jenny Green, Brad Harrison, Tanja Hasler, Glenn Hilke, Peter Kerek, Tina Lange (incumbent), Dustin McIntyre, Daphane Nelson, Mike O’Reilly, Andy Philpot, Cheryl Phippen, Alexandra Proctor, Reo Rocheleau, Peter Sharp, Arjun Singh (incumbent), Bernadette Siracky, Marg Spina (incumbent), Glen Thompson, Pat Wallace (incumbent), Denis Walsh.

School trustee candidates: Christy Campbell, Michael Carroll, Bowen Cooluris, Joan Cowden (incumbent), Colleen Deveyrac, Adam Jensen, Kathleen Karpuk (incumbent), Don Kitt, Colin Madland, Barbara Morin, Aaron Shufletoski, Joe Small, Meghan Wade (incumbent), Christine Watson, Gerald Watson (incumbent).

Find out more about where the candidates stand on some key issues:
Candidates take on Ajax
Candidates tackle taxes
Candidates weigh in on a performing arts centre
Candidates discuss downtown parking
Candidates sound off on the Tournament Capital brand

To contact a reporter for this story, email Jennifer Stahn at jstahn@infonews.ca or call 250-819-3723. To contact an editor, email mjones@infonews.ca or call 250-718-2724.

Credit: City of Kamloops
News from © iNFOnews, 2014

  • Popular penticton News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile