ELECTION 2014: Jakubeit new mayor of Penticton | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions

Mainly Clear

Penticton News

ELECTION 2014: Jakubeit new mayor of Penticton

Andrew Jakubeit upon hearing the news that he will be the Mayor of Penticton.
November 16, 2014 - 9:34 AM

PENTICTON - The votes are in and Andrew Jakubeit is the new mayor of Penticton, beating out former councillor and colleague John Vassilaki and local businessman Jukka Laurio.

Jakubeit won by more than 2,000 votes with a total of 5,126 votes. 

“I just want to say thank you,” he said after the win. “The whole election I tried to stick to what my platform was and I’m very happy, very proud and humbled that the community saw that and are supporting of that.”

Rejoining Jakubeit at the council table will be Helena Konanz and Judy Sentes, as well as new councillors Max Picton, Campbell Watt, Andre Martin and Tarik Sayeed.

The final results for mayor are Andrew Jakubeit, 5,126; John Vassilaki, 3012; and Jukka Laurio, 169.

Votes for elected councillors were led by Max Picton, 4,251; Campbell Watt, 3,925; Helena Konanz, 3,626; Andre Martin, 3,090; Judy Sentes, 2,890; and Tarik Sayeed, 2,786.

The remaining candidates received the following number of votes: Steve Boultbee, 1,268; Patrick Buchanan, 1,137; Paula Cattani, 393; Don Dumesnil, 280; Ryan Foster, 2,090; Garry B. Gratton, 1,942; Brian Henningson, 473; Tim Hodgkinson, 1,592; Brian Horejsi, 900; Lynn Kelsey, 1,397; David Korinetz, 939; Brent Madsen, 511; Doug Maxwell, 1,350; Jenine Nicholas, 1,143; Kevin Noonan, 1,163; Vic Powell, 868; Katie Robinson, 1,944; Darryl Sanders, 356; and Debra Slater, 642.

Reclaiming their school trustee board seats are Bruce Johnson (4,072) and Shelley Clarke (3,381), who will be joined by newcomers Bill Bidlake (4,224) and Barb Sheppard (3,870).

The elected directors for the Regional District of the Okanagan-Similkameen are Terry Schafer for Oliver rural, 367 votes; Tom Siddon for Kaleden-OK Falls, 638 votes; Michael Brydon for Okanagan Lake West-West Bench, 245 votes; Elef Christensen for Keremeos Rural-Hedley, 234 votes; and Bob Coyne for Princeton rural, 354 votes.

To contact the reporter for this story, email Meaghan Archer at marcher@infotelnews.ca or call 250-488-3065. To contact the editor, email mjones@infotelnews.ca or call 250-718-2724.

— This story was updated at 11:11 a.m., Sunday, Nov. 16, 2014 to correct the spelling of Kaleden.

News from © iNFOnews, 2014

  • Popular penticton News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile