Most of Scotties field chosen with 10 of 11 provincial champions crowned - InfoNews

Current Conditions

Light Snow

Most of Scotties field chosen with 10 of 11 provincial champions crowned

January 27, 2013 - 8:16 PM

Heather Nedohin and the rest of Team Canada finally have a sense of who they'll play at the 2013 Scotties Tournament of Hearts.

A full schedule of provincial championships on Sunday determined 10 of the 11 teams that will challenge Nedohin's rink in the Canadian women's curling championship.

Leading the charge is Jennifer Jones, who captured the Manitoba title. It will be her 10th Tournament of Hearts. She is a four-time Canadian champion and the 2008 world champion.

Mary-Anne Arsenault will skip the Nova Scotia team with former teammates Colleen Jones — who is playing third — and second Kim Kelly. This will be Arsenault's 11th trip to the Scotties.

Arsenault, Colleen Jones (as skip), Kelly and fifth player Nancy Delahunt won the Canadian title five times and the world championship twice. Together they still hold the record for consecutive Canadian wins, at four. Colleen Jones is the most decorated women's curler in the game.

Kelly Scott will skip British Columbia's entry for the fourth consecutive year and eighth time overall. Scott has won the Canadian title four times and was 2007 world champion.

Ontario's entry in the Scotties will be skipped by Ottawa's Rachel Homan, who is sure to be a fan favourite at the event in Kingston, Ont. She won the Canadian juniors in 2010 and is making her second trip to the Scotties.

Suzanne Birt of Prince Edward Island is a two-time Canadian junior champion and former world champion who is making her seventh appearance at the national championship.

Kerry Galusha will be representing the Northwest Territories/Yukon and is returning for her 11th appearance at the Canadian championship.

Rounding out the field is Alberta's Kristie Moore, Quebec's Allison Ross, Saskatchewan's Jill Shumay and Newfoundland and Labrador's Stacie Devereaux.

The New Brunswick champion will be declared on Feb. 3.

News from © The Canadian Press, 2013
The Canadian Press

  • Popular kamloops News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile