CLARK WINS: coverage as it happened | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?

Current Conditions Sunny  7.9°C

Kelowna News

CLARK WINS: coverage as it happened

10:45 p.m This concludes the Infotel News live coverage of the B.C. byelection for Westside-Kelowna.

10:40 p.m. All ballot boxes have been reported. The preliminary voting results are as follows with the final count commencing July 17, 2013: 

Liberal Christy Clark 10,666 votes and 62.70 per cent; NDP Carole Gordon 5,045 votes and 29.66 per cent; CP Sean Upshaw 989 votes and 5.81 per cent; BCV Jag Bhandar 43 votes and 0.25 per cent; Independent candidates John Marks 71 votes, Silverado Brooks Socrates 43 votes, Dayleen Van Ryswyk 129 votes; Korry Zepik 26 votes. Total votes 17,012.

10:23 p.m. Most of the ballot boxes have been reported with 167/171. Christy Clark has 61.63 per cent, Carole Gordon has 30.55 per cent, Sean Upshaw has 5.91 per cent, Jag Bhandar has 0.25 per cent and Independents collectively have 1.64 per cent of the vote.

9:55 p.m. Christy Clark arrives. She is thanking the people of Westside Kelowna for opening their hearts to her. She tells them she has always said you don't win elections if you don't stand for something. She says her win shows Westside Kelowna believes in something. She took a moment to talk about Ben Stewart.

"Ben Stewart has served this community with tremendous honour," she says adding he exemplifies everything this community is and wants to be in the future . Clark says Ben Stewart can't work on a campaign without working every waking moment.

"I have never met someone with the work ethic and commitment that Ben Stewart has. I can tell you I have met few people in my life that have the character Ben Stewart has."


9:33 p.m. Infotel News is calling it. Christy Clark has been elected for Westside-Kelowna. She currently has 60.47 per cent of the vote of 100/171 ballot boxes. Carole Gordon has 31.69 per cent, Sean Upshaw has 5.92 per cent, Jag Bhandar has 0.23 per cent and Independents collectively have 1.69 per cent.

9:26 p.m. With Christy Clark expected to arrive in less than ten minutes, MLA's take to the microphone to address the crowd.

9:22 p.m. The B.C. Liberal party went all out for the election night celebration with an outdoor terrace at the Delta Grand Hotel, white table cloths and a bountiful spread of appetizers and desserts for guests. Walter Gray and councillor Colin Basran are in attendance.

9:12 p.m. Kelowna Lake Country district MLA Norm Letnick stands out in a crowd of people watching as the results come in at the Delta Grand. He was appointed Minister of Agriculture in 2012 but this position was recently given to Patt Primm of the Peace River North riding.

Image Credit: Julie Whittet

8:53 p.m. It appears Christy Clark is cruising her way to victory with 60.45 per cent of the votes from 35/171 ballot boxes counted. Carole Gordon has 29.17 per cent, Sean Upshaw has 8.17 per cent and Jag Bhandar has 0.23 per cent. The Independent candidates collectively have 1.97 per cent.

8:40 p.m. The crowd at the Grand Hotel where Premier Christy Clark awaits the results of the byelection is starting to fill out.

7:03 p.m. July 10, 2013

After polls close at 8 p.m. tonight, residents of Westside-Kelowna will have a new MLA and premier Christy Clark will find out if she won a seat in the B.C. legislature.

Members and supporters of the Liberal party will be watching live election coverage at the Delta Grand Hotel tonight in downtown Kelowna. 

NDP candidate Carole Gordon will be with Adrian Dix and supporters will be over at the Streaming Cafe on Leon Avenue.

More to come.

To contact the reporter for this story, email Julie Whittet at or call (250)718-0428.

News from © iNFOnews, 2013

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile