Current Conditions

Mainly Clear

Announcing the 36 finalists for the 9th Okanagan Arts Awards

Image Credit: Contributed
May 07, 2016 - 8:30 PM

OKANAGAN - The Arts Council of the Central Okanagan is proud to announce the 36 Finalists going forward to the award gala evening of the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards.

Thirty-six of the Central Okanagan’s top artists in 12 nomination categories are to be celebrated at the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards on Saturday, May 28, 2016 at the Habitat in downtown Kelowna.

Response to the call for submissions to the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Award was so robust, going from 41 in 2015 to over 110 in 2016, that a new Finalist category has been created for the award gala event on Saturday, May 28 at the Habitat in downtown Kelowna.

The 2016 Okanagan Arts Awards Finalists are:

Visual Arts:  Connor Charlesworth, Jane Everett and Laurie Koss

Dance: Kinshira Performance Troupe,  Loretta Lachner and Janessa McGrath

Music: Alexandra Babbel & Opera Kelowna,  Andrew Judah and Adam Meachem

Literature: Ronald Derrickson, Lesley-Anne Evans and Michael V. Smith

Theatre: Kinshira Performance Troupe, Robert Mason-Brown and Randall Robinson

Time Based Media Benjamin Musgrave, Todd Ramsey and Nick Schafer

Applied Arts Art Felt Collaborative, Missy Mackintosh and Bri Stein

Emerging Artist Kelsie Balehowsky, Connor Charlesworth and Jolene Mackie

Innovation Cool Arts Society, Opera Kelowna and Shimson Obadia

Community Impact Lake Country Art Gallery, Okanagan Symphony Orchestra and Cool Arts Society

Art & Business Brazen Edwards, Carrie Mayhew and Bramble Lee Pryde

Business Supporter The Heritage Retirement Residence, Investors Group and Raymond James Ltd

And a special Lifetime Achievement celebrating Sharon McCoubrey for her many years of support for the arts.

Beside celebrating the achievements of the Central Okanagan’s top talent in the arts, the awards night will also include performances by Wildson, Kelly Derrickson, Leah West, Anna Jackysyn, Loni Moger and Stephen Buck, Aaron and Graham Ord, Lucy Hazelwood and The Trips.

Hosted by actor and talent agent Peter Breeze, the awards will be followed up with an afterparty with DJ Wolfhous. Besides all the action on stage, the Okanagan Arts Awards will also include a pop-up exhibition of work by the nominees and finalists and local food trucks on-site for a mini rally.

Tickets the Award Gala evening are $20 per person and available at - ages 19+

The pop-exhibition and food truck rally will run throughout the evening and are free and open and to the public of all ages.

For more information on the finalists of the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards, click here.

Click here to buy tickets to the Award Gala.

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2016
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular kamloops News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile