Westbank First Nation reelects Robert Louie as Chief - InfoNews

Current Conditions


Westbank First Nation reelects Robert Louie as Chief

Robert Louie will serve another three years as Chief of Westbank First Nation
September 03, 2013 - 5:13 PM

WEST KELOWNA - The ballots are in from last month's election and West Bank First Nation will be keeping their chief for another three years.

With 59 percent of the vote, Robert Louie will retain his position in office along with councillors Christopher Derickson, Mike De Guevara, Mic Werstuik and Brian Eli. A former councillor, Eli will be replacing Lorrie Hogaboam who opted not to run for another term.

Out of 559 elligible voters, 332 ballots were counted, indicating a 60 per cent voter turnout.

Chief and council will be sworn in later today.


Results are as follows:

ELECTED (Chief) Robert Louie 192 Votes
ELECTED (Councillor) Christopher Derickson 232 Votes
ELECTED (Councillor) Mike De Guevara 159 Votes
ELECTED (Councillor) Mic Werstuik 155 Votes
ELECTED (Councillor) Brian Eli 124 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Chief) Roxanne Lindley 132 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Fernanda Alexander 97 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Rose Caldwell 60 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Hailey Causton 33 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Corinne Derickson 53 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Janine Lott 97 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Robert Keith Sr. Swite 39 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Will Swite 35 Votes
DEFEATED (Candidate for Councillor) Sara Tronson 71 Votes

To contact the reporter for this story, email Julie Whittet at jwhittet@infotelnews.ca or call (250)718-0428.

News from © iNFOnews, 2013

  • Popular vernon News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile