Unprecedented interest in Mayor's chair | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Kelowna News

Unprecedented interest in Mayor's chair

Kelowna mayor Walter Gray says it's looking like there may be more interest in the mayor's job this year than ever before.
September 17, 2014 - 10:30 AM

KELOWNA – It’s looking like voters will have an unprecedented number of choices for mayor this November.

With the opportunity to file still a month away, the numbers are far from final, however outgoing Mayor Walter Gray says there does seem to be more interest this year than at any other time he can remember.

“We know historically that not everybody who picks up the papers files them… but it does seem like a lot of people are interested in the job so far,” Gray says.

The previous record for longest ballot, according to city clerk Stephen Fleming, was in both 2005 and 2011. In 2011, 12 packages for mayor were picked up with five ending up on the ballot. Already this year 13 mayoral packages have been picked up at City Hall.

Gray can’t say for certain what’s caused the rise in interest but says it is likely due in part to his announcement in March that he would not seek another term.

“People know there will be a new mayor this year,” he says. “Normally if a mayor keeps their nose clean they have an advantage and people know that. This year it’s an even playing field.”

2011 was also a record-setting year for council candidates, with 59 picking up packages and 40 on the ballot. So far this year there have been 28 councillor packages picked up since August 15.

The following have nomination packages in their possession and have agreed to have their names published.

For Mayor: Colin Basran*, Samuel Condy, James Murphy, Dale Myrdal, Kelly Row, Andrew Uitvlugt, Chuck Hardy, Ray Osvirk, and Glendon Smedley.

For Council: David Boyko, Cal Condy, Patrick Doyle, Margaret-Ann Gfeller, Carol Gran, Rawle James, Luke Stack*, Geoff Turton, Derek Somer, Ken Hart, Bobby Kennedy, Graeme James, Dayleen Van Ryswyk, Mike McLoughlin, Edward Van Ryswyk, Tracy Gray, Mohini Singh*, Brad Sieben and Chris Pollock.

Note: * indicates a current councillor.

To contact the reporter for this story, email Adam Proskiw at aproskiw@infotelnews.ca or call 250-718-0428. To contact the editor, email mjones@infotelnews.ca or call 250-718-2724.

News from © iNFOnews, 2014

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile