Student vote gives John Horgan and the B.C. NDP a majority government | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions


Kelowna News

Student vote gives John Horgan and the B.C. NDP a majority government

Student Vote saw the election won by the NDP
Image Credit: SUBMITTED
October 24, 2020 - 8:40 PM

More than 85,000 students cast a ballot in B.C.'s 87 electoral districts with the Student Vote program, giving John Horgan's NDP a majority. 

The B.C. NDP and the B.C. Greens even won over students in traditional B.C. Liberal territory.

“This election was particularly challenging for schools given the pandemic, and the nature of a snap election. We are grateful for all of the educators that dedicated time and energy to engaging their students and adapting to new safety protocols,” says Lindsay Mazzucco, Chief Operating Officer of CIVIX, said in a press release. CIVIX delivered the program in partnership with Elections B.C. This was the sixth provincial Student Vote organized to date.

Students elected John Horgan and the B.C. NDP to form a majority government with 59 out of 87 seats and 40 per cent of the vote. Horgan also won in the electoral district of Langford-Juan de Fuca with 52 per cent of the vote.

Sonia Furstenau and the B.C. Green Party took 16 seats and will form the official opposition, receiving 28 per cent of the popular vote. Furstenau also won in the electoral district of Cowichan Valley with 49 per cent of the vote.

Andrew Wilkinson and the B.C. Liberal Party won 12 seats and received 25 per cent of the vote. Wilkinson also won in the electoral district of Vancouver-Quilchena with 39 per cent of the vote.

Closer to home, the results diverged from their usual path.

Kamloops North Thompson

Sadie Hunter, BCNDP, 33.6 per cent
Thomas Martin, Green Party, 24,4 per cent 
Peter Milobar, BC Liberal with 22 per cent
Dennis Giesbrecht, Conservative, 12.46 per cent
Brandon Russel, independent, 7.45 per per cent

Kelowna South Thompson

Todd Stone, BC Liberal Party with 38.42 per cent
Dan Hines, BC Green Party, 31.8 per cent
Anna Thomas, BCND, 29.7 per cent

Kelowna West

Spring Hawes, BCNDP, 37.2 per cent
Peter Truch, BC Green Party, 29.7 per cent
Ben Stewart, BC Liberal Party, 24.5 per cent
Matt Badura, Libertarian, 5.43 per cent,
Magee Mitchell, Independent, 3.1 per cent

Kelowna Lake Country — a tie

John Janmaat of the BC Green Party and Justin Kulik of the BCNDP tied with 35.9 per cent
Norm Letnick, BC Liberal Party, 22.9 per cent 
Kyle Geronazzo, Libertarian, 3 per cent
Silverado Socrates, independent, 2.15 per cent 

Kelowna Mission

Amanda Poon, BC Green Party, with 38.2 per cent 
Renee Merrifield, BC Liberal Party, 32.6 per cent
Krystal Smith, BCNDP, 29.18 per cent


Toni Boot, BC NDP, 32.93 of the vote
Ted Shumaker, BC Green Parkty, 32.1 per cent
Dan Ashton, BC Libertal Party, 28.1 per cent
Keith MacIntyre, Libertarian, 6.55 per cent

Shuswap — a tie

Sylvia Lindgren, BCNDP, 34.2 per cent and Greg Kyle, BC Liberal Party, 34.32 per cent
Owen Madden, BC Green Party, 31.3 per cent

Vernon Monashee

Harwinder Sandhu, BC NDP, 29 per cent
Keli Westgate, BC Green Party, 28 per cent
Eric Foster, BC Liberal party, 21.8 per cent
Kyle Delfing, Conservative, 21 per cent

The Student Vote BC 2020 online results platform presents the province-wide results, as well as results for each electoral district and for each individual school. The students learned about government and the election process, researching the parties and platforms, and debating the future of British Columbia, students cast ballots for the official candidates running in their school’s electoral district.

To contact a reporter for this story, email Kathy Michaels or call 250-718-0428 or email the editor. You can also submit photos, videos or news tips to the newsroom and be entered to win a monthly prize draw.

We welcome your comments and opinions on our stories but play nice. We won't censor or delete comments unless they contain off-topic statements or links, unnecessary vulgarity, false facts, spam or obviously fake profiles. If you have any concerns about what you see in comments, email the editor in the link above. 

News from © iNFOnews, 2020

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile