Canadian allocated players announced for National Women's Soccer League - InfoNews

Current Conditions

Mostly Cloudy

Canadian allocated players announced for National Women's Soccer League

April 05, 2019 - 5:12 PM

Goalkeeper Stephanie Labbe and midfielder Sophie Schmidt have joined Canada's list of allocated players in the National Women's Soccer League.

In all, 31 players — 22 Americans and nine Canadians — have been allocated to the league in 2019. Allocated players are internationals whose home governing body has agreed to help pay their club salaries. How much of the salary is up for negotiation, according to the Canadian Soccer Association.

Labbe and Schmidt join Americans Morgan Brian, Adrianna Franch and McCall Zerbonias as newly allocated players.

Schmidt had been playing in Europe while Labbe took time away from the NWSL in 2017.

Canadians Sabrina D’Angelo, Janine Beckie, Adriana Leon and Rebecca Quinn are no longer allocated by the CSA because they have moved to clubs in Europe.

Canadian allocated players for 2019 are Schmidt, Allysha Chapman and Nichelle Prince (Houston Dash); Labbe (North Carolina); Shelina Zadorsky (Orlando Pride); Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns); Kailen Sheridan (Sky Blue FC); and Diana Matheson and Desiree Scott (Utah Royals).

News from © The Canadian Press, 2019
The Canadian Press

  • Popular kamloops News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile