Real Estate Board announces 2015-2016 president and directors - InfoNews

Current Conditions


Real Estate Board announces 2015-2016 president and directors

Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board president Christopher Miller
Image Credit: Contributed
March 09, 2015 - 4:50 PM

KELOWNA - The Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board is pleased to announce the election of realtor Christopher Miller of Kelowna to the position of President for the 2015-2016 term.

Miller was installed along with 11 Directors representing the Central Okanagan, North Okanagan and Shuswap zones at OMREB’s Annual General Meeting on Monday, March 9, 2015. He replaces outgoing President Darcy Griffiths of Vernon who stays on as Past President.

Miller became a licensed realtor in 2004 and has been an OMREB member for 10 years. An OMREB Director since 2012, he has served on the Finance and Audit, and Strategy and Governance committees, and held the Provincial Government and Community Affairs portfolio.

“I am very proud to represent the professional realtors of the Central Okanagan, North Okanagan, Shuswap and Revelstoke markets. I look forward to working with our Members and our Board to help further our professionalism, and supporting the many initiatives undertaken by our membership to attain a higher quality of life in our communities,” Miller says.

“As OMREB President, I will continue to help realtos deliver value for their clients and to raise the profile of the Board within our local communities. We will continue to work with the Provincial and Federal governments as well as other stakeholders on issues that impact real estate and home ownership, and enhance housing opportunities for families in the Board area.”

This is an exciting time in our industry, Miller notes.  He is optimistic that more buyers and sellers will be able to reach their housing goals in 2015 as consumer confidence strengthens, the economy improves, employment grows, and the market moves into more balanced conditions in the Okanagan-Shuswap. 

“I am confident that relatively low mortgage rates and moderate home prices within the Board areas will continue to allow more buyers to enter the market this year, and will encourage more investors to develop rental opportunities for those who are not in a position to buy.”

Anthony Bastiaanssen of West Kelowna is the Vice President of the Board of Directors for 2015-2016.  A licensed realtor and Managing Broker, he has been an OMREB member for nine years (2006), and has served as a Director for the past year. Bastiaanssen has also been a member of the Central Okanagan Zone Executive Committee since 2012.

OMREB’s 2015 to 2016 Board of Directors:
Christopher Miller, Kelowna – President
Anthony Bastiaanssen,  West Kelowna – Vice President
Darcy Griffiths, Vernon – Past President
Marv Beer, Salmon Arm – Shuswap Zone
Tim Down, Kelowna – Central Zone
Dave Favell, Kelowna – Central Zone
Maggie Garvey, Vernon – North Zone
Kim Heizmann, Vernon – North Zone
Derryanne Hubbard, Vernon – North Zone
Doug Hubscher, Salmon Arm – Shuswap Zone
Michael Loewen, Kelowna – Central Zone
Tanis Read, Kelowna – Central Zone

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2015
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular kelowna News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile