Anderson, Maltais, Calve among 19 named to Canada's snowboard team | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions

Partly Cloudy

Anderson, Maltais, Calve among 19 named to Canada's snowboard team

Alex Duckworth of Kingsburg, N.S., right, is congratulated by Canadian Olympic Committee President Marcel Aubut, as they unveil the Canadian Olympic snowboard team, Tuesday, January 21, 2014 at the Ice Hotel in Quebec City. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jacques Boissinot
January 21, 2014 - 12:18 PM

QUEBEC CITY, Que. - Defending Olympic gold medallist Jasey-Jay Anderson and 2010 Olympians Dominique Maltais and Caroline Calve are among 19 athletes added to Canada's Olympic snowboard team.

Anderson, from Mont-Tremblant, Que., claimed gold in the men's parallel giant slalom at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics and is a four-time world champion.

Maltais, from Petite-Riviere-St-Francois, Que., won bronze in snowboardcross at the 2006 Turin Games and silver at the 2013 world championships. She'll be looking to rebound for a disappointing Olympics in 2010 where she failed to qualify for the snowboardcross final.

Calve, from Aylmer, Que., became the first Canadian to win a women's parallel giant slalom world cup event in 2011 at Carezza, Italy. She recently took gold there again in December.

"Going to Sochi is an once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and one that I am honoured to have been chosen for," Calve said. "I have been working on perfecting my game for such a long time now and am excited to be competing against the world's best.

"It will be an honour to be representing Canada at the Olympics."

Also named were: Jenna Blasman (Kitchener, Ont.); Alexandra Duckworth (Kingsburg, N.S.); Ariane Lavigne (Lac Superieur, Que.); Marianne Leeson (Burlington, Ont.); Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, B.C.); Katie Tsuyuki (Toronto); Rob Fagan (Cranbrook, B.C.); Kevin Hill (Vernon, B.C.); Jake Holden (Caledon, Ont.); Michael Lambert (Toronto); Crispin Lipscomb (Whistler, B.C.); Derek Livingston (Aurora, Ont.); Brad Martin (Ancaster, Ont.); Matt Morison (Burketon, Ont.); Maxence Parrot (Bromont, Que.); and Charles Reid (Mont-Tremblant).

They will join defending Olympic snowboardcross champion Maelle Ricker of West Vancouver, B.C., and first-time Olympians Mark McMorris of Regina, Sebastien Toutant of L'Assomption, Que., Spencer O'Brien of Courtenay, B.C., and Calgary's Chris Robanske, who were named to the team earlier this month.

News from © The Canadian Press, 2014
The Canadian Press

  • Popular kamloops News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile