Current Conditions

Light Rain

North Okanagan Athlete, Team and Leadership Awards seeking mominations

Ottawa Senator Curtis Lazar is a past winner of the North Okanagan Athlete of the Year Award.
Image Credit: Curtis Lazar via Twitter
April 09, 2016 - 3:17 PM

VERNON - Nominations are now being accepted for the 2016 Tim Hortons North Okanagan Athlete, Team, and Leadership of the Year awards.

The awards have been handed out since 1994 and past athlete winners include hockey players Brent Gilchrist and Curtis Lazar, speed-skater Connie Kapac, and in 2015, swimmer Savannah King.

Last year's Team of the Year was Jim Cotter's rink that won the B.C. men's curling title and advanced to the Tim Hortons Brier.

The nominees must be an athlete or team that has represented the North Okanagan in professional or amateur sports from June 2015 to present.

The Leadership in Sports award is for community leaders in sports such as coaches or organizers.

Past winners have included John Topping, Mel Briggeman, Jim Wilson, and, in 2015, Jan Mori.

Nominations can be submitted to Ken Richardson, chair of the selection committee, by calling 250-542-1796 or email

The deadline for nominations is May 31.

The awards, chosen by a panel of media and community representatives, will be handed out June 15.

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2016
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular kelowna News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile