Nominees selected for Kamloops Sports Council Annual Athletic Awards - InfoNews

Current Conditions


Nominees selected for Kamloops Sports Council Annual Athletic Awards

Image Credit: Contributed
February 21, 2016 - 11:32 AM

KAMLOOPS - In 1990 the Kamloops Sports Council held their first official meeting; the ground work began for a unified sport advocacy group to promote communication, development, education and participation of sport in the greater Kamloops area.

The Athletic Awards have been awarded annually since 1990 in conjunction with the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame Banquet, which will be held this year on April 9th, 2016 in the Grand Hall at TRU.

This year’s guest speaker will be Scott Rintoul, who is a TSN Radio Team 1040 host and BC Lions Play by Play announcer. Scott grew up in Kamloops attending Kam High, playing football and rugby for the Red Devils. After graduating Scott played football for the UBC Thunderbirds under the late Casey Smith and Jay Prepchuck. Scott graduated from the BCIT Broadcasting program in 2002.

The Kamloops Sports Council is pleased to announce the Nominees for the 26th Annual Athletic Awards, there are 8 categories that are awarded, with 3 finalists being recognized at the Banquet.

Tickets will go on sale early March and will be available for purchase at the Kamloops Box Office at the Sandman Centre, ticket price is $45.

We hope you will join us to celebrate the best in sport.

Female Athlete of the Year Nominees
 Megan Dalke – Swimming
 Sara Spence – Speed Skating
 Megan Hanks – Judo

Male Athlete of the Year Nominees
 Derek Yachison – Football
 Colin Gilbert – Swimming
 Gavin Dodd – Trampoline

Master Athlete of the Year
 Peter Findlay – Multi Sport
 Alf Konrad – Track and Field
 Jordan Sim – Running

News from © InfoTel News Ltd, 2016
InfoTel News Ltd

  • Popular vernon News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile