NHLPA names Kane, Benn and Holtby as finalists for Ted Lindsay Award | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Current Conditions

Mostly Cloudy

NHLPA names Kane, Benn and Holtby as finalists for Ted Lindsay Award

May 06, 2016 - 3:26 PM

TORONTO - Dallas forward Jamie Benn, Washington goaltender Braden Holtby and Chicago forward Patrick Kane are the finalists for the 2015-16 Ted Lindsay Award.

Kane led the NHL in points (106) to earn his first Art Ross Trophy. He also finished first in points-per-game (1.29), first in power-play points (37), second in goals (46), tied for second in power-play goals (17), tied for second in game-winning goals (9), and ranked third in assists (60)

The native of Buffalo, N.Y., is seeking to become the first Blackhawks player and the first U.S.-born player to receive the award.

Benn finished the NHL season second in the league in points (89) and third in goals (41) — both career bests.

He also ranked second in the NHL in points-per-game (1.09) and tied for second in both power-play goals (17) and power-play points (30).

Holtby played in 66 games for the Capitals in 2015-16, helping his team win the Presidents' Trophy for the most regular-season points.

Holtby posted a career-high in wins (48), setting a franchise record and tying Martin Brodeur's NHL record for most wins in a season. He finished fifth in goals-against average (2.20) and eighth in save percentage (.922).

The award is given annually to the "most outstanding" player, as voted on by members of the NHL Players' Association.

News from © The Canadian Press, 2016
The Canadian Press

  • Popular penticton News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile