Finalists named for EU's Sakharov Prize - InfoNews

Current Conditions


Finalists named for EU's Sakharov Prize

October 11, 2016 - 4:35 AM

BRUSSELS - Two Iraqi women who once were captives of Islamic State, a leader of the Crimean Tatars and a former Turkish newspaper editor have been named finalists for the European Union's Sakharov human rights prize.

The shortlist for the prize, to be awarded Oct. 27, was agreed upon Tuesday by the European Parliament's foreign affairs and development commissions.

The award, named after Soviet dissident Andrei Sakharov, was created in 1988 to honour individuals or groups who defend human rights and fundamental freedoms. Last year's winner was Saudi blogger Raif Badawi.

The finalists are Nadia Murad Basee and Lamiya Aji Bashar, advocates for the Yazidi community and for women surviving sexual enslavement by the Islamic State group; Crimean Tatar leader Mustafa Dzhemilev, and Can Dundar, former editor of the Turkish daily Cumhuriyet.

News from © The Associated Press, 2016
The Associated Press

  • Popular penticton News
  • Comments
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile