Large number of presidents, ministers and royalty at Mandela memorial service | iNFOnews | Thompson-Okanagan's News Source

Would you like to subscribe to our newsletter?

Current Conditions Clear  14.5°C

Large number of presidents, ministers and royalty at Mandela memorial service

JOHANNESBURG - Dozens of foreign leaders were expected to arrive Tuesday for the memorial service honouring former South African President Nelson Mandela in Johannesburg's FNB stadium.

Here's a full list of based on information provided by the South African government and reporting by The Associated Press:

— Afghan President Hamid Karzai.

— Angolan Vice-President Manuel Vincent.

— Argentinian Acting President Amado Boudou.

— Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott.

— Bahamas' Prime Minister Perry Christie.

— Bangladesh's President Abdul Hamid.

— Belgian Prime Minister Elio di Rupo and King Philippe.

— Benin's President Boni Yayi.

— Botswana's President Seretse Ian Khama.

— Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff and three of her predecessors, including Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva.

— British Prime Minister David Cameron, deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg and former Prime Minister Tony Blair.

— Burundi's President Pierre Nkurunziza.

— Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper and three of his predecessors.

— Chadian President Idriss Deby.

— Chinese Vice-President Li Yuanchao.

— Comoros' President Ikiliou Dhoinine.

— Congo's President Joseph Kabila.

— Croatian President Ivo Josipovic.

— Cuban President Raul Castro.

— Czech Foreign Minister Jan Kohout.

— Danish Prime Minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt and Prince Frederik.

— Djibouti's President Ismail Omar Guelleh.

— East Timor's Prime Minister Xanana Gusmao.

— El Salvador's Foreign Minister Jaime Miranda.

— Equatorial Guinea's President Obiang Nguema Mbasogo.

— Ethiopia's Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn.

— European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso.

— European Union Council President Herman Van Rompuy.

— Finnish President Sauli Niinisto.

— French President Francois Hollande and his predecessor Nicolas Sarkozy.

— Gabon's President Ali Bongo Ondimba.

— Gambian President Yahya Jammeh.

— German President Joachim Gauck.

— Ghana's President John Dramani Mahama.

— Guinean President Alpha Conde.

— Guyana's President Donald Ramotar.

— Haitian President Michel Martelly and Prime Minister Laurent Lamothe.

— Indian President Pranab Mukherjee and Congress party leader Sonia Ghandi.

— Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif.

— Irish President Michael Higgins.

— Italian Prime Minister Enrico Letta.

— Ivory Coast's President Allasane Ouattara.

— Jamaica's Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller.

— Japan's Crown Prince Naruhito and former Prime Minister Yasuo Fukuda.

— Jordanian Queen Rania and Prime Minister Abdullah Ensour.

— Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta.

— Lebanese caretaker Prime Minister Najib Mikati.

— Lesotho's Prime Minister Thomas Thabane.

— Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf.

— Malawi's President Joyce Banda.

— Malaysian Energy Minister Maximus Ongkili.

— Mauritius' Prime Minister Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz.

— Mexican President Pena Nieto.

— Morocco's Prince Moulay Rachid.

— Mozambique's President Armando Emilio Guebuza.

— Namibian President Hifikepunye Pohamba.

— Nepalese Foreign Minister Madhav Prassad Ghimire.

— The Netherlands' Foreign Minister Frans Timmermans and King Willem-Alexander.

— Niger's President Mahamadou Issoufou.

— Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan.

— Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg and Crown Prince Haakon.

— Pakistan's President Mamnoon Hussain.

— Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas.

— Philippines' Vice-President Jejomar Binay.

— Polish Foreign Minister Radek Sikorski and former President Lech Walesa.

— Portuguese President Cavaco Silva.

— Saudi-Arabia's Deputy Prime Minister Muqrin bin Abdulaziz Al Saud.

— Senegalese President Macky Sall.

— Serbian President Tomislav Nicolic.

— Seychelles President James Michel.

— Slovak Foreign Minister Miroslav Lajcak.

— Slovenia's President Borut Pahor.

— South Korean Prime Minister Hongwon Chung.

— South Sudan's President Salva Kir Mayardi.

— Spanish Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy and Prince Felipe.

— Sri Lanka's President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

— Sudanese Vice-President Bakri Hassan Salih.

— Suriname's President Desire Delan Bouterse.

— Swaziland's Prime Minister Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini.

— Swedish Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt and Princess Victoria.

— Swiss President Ulrich Maurer.

— Tanzanian President Jakaya Kikwete.

— Trinidad and Tobago's Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

— Tunisian President Moncef Marzouki.

— Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni.

— U.N. Human Rights Commissioner Navi Pillay.

— U.N. Secretary General Ban Ki-moon and his predecessor Kofi Annan.

— U.S. President Barack Obama and first lady Michelle Obama as well as former presidents George W. Bush, Jimmy Carter, Bill Clinton and his wife Hillary.

— Uruguay's Foreign Minister Luis Almagro.

— Vatican official Cardinal Peter Turkson of Ghana.

— Venezuela's President Nicolas Maduro.

— Zambia's President Michael Sata.

— Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe.

News from © The Associated Press, 2013
The Associated Press

  • Popular kelowna News
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile