Current Conditions

Mostly Cloudy
18.9°C
Sunday 18-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM (More Dates)

Venue

Kamloops Art Gallery
101 - 465 Victoria Street Phone Number: (250) 372-7323

Event Description

OPENING RECEPTION: Saturday August 17, 1 - 5 pm ART EXHIBITION in the KAC Galleries Aug. 14 to Sept. 7, 2019 Depictions recognizable… bucking conventional trends in art. Artist Statement: Progress needs decoration. The problem with the progress is that the natural world is getting the rough end of the stick. We replace the biodiversity with hard edge materials. Therefore, progress with environmental reverence of what is being lost is important in civilization. Ultimately divine intervention is desperately needed now. Still, we have the capacity and obligation to change the world, into something good, if we have the will. Use bird friendly glass and sheers. Plant trees and tear up the asphalt and concrete. We are past the tipping points. The critters and the natural world have something to say, if we give them voice. That is what I do. This is an exhibit sending out a message of remembrance from the natural world. We can only hope and never give up in the face of overwhelming progress and conformity. Artist Bio: The highlight of my artistic career was graduating from high school. Seven of my pieces were in the chosen school of the year exhibit at the Vancouver Art Gallery. My skipping the academic classes to go to the art rooms worked for me. With a scholarship and awards I went to VSA but could not settle on a single discipline. Langara was a two year programme and there was four enjoyable art years spent at Capilano. In between I did some plein air landscapes on Vancouver Island. Then I came to the Shuswap to build a wood-fired kiln on the idea this could be a living besides a career doing a wide variety of labouring type work. Homesteading on bare acreage tends to want to consume all of one’s time and energy. Fortunately I now have this time and energy to get back into painting. Sculpture and firing up the gas kiln I built will follow. Hopefully. ~Larry For more information visit- http://kamloopsarts.ca/event-calendar/#id=10254&cid=914&wid=601

Venue Map

(Enlarge Map)

Available Dates:

Sunday 18-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday 19-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday 20-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday 21-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday 22-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday 23-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday 24-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday 25-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday 26-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday 27-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday 28-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday 29-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday 30-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday 31-Aug-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday 01-Sep-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday 02-Sep-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday 03-Sep-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday 04-Sep-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday 05-Sep-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday 06-Sep-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday 07-Sep-2019 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
View Site in: Desktop | Mobile